Aria of Sorrow’s setting is still its most unique feature


Fans playing Aria of Sorrow in Castlevania: Advance Collection will notice that its setting is a departure, but it’s not just a game to do so.

The Castlevania: Advanced Collection was revealed recently during the last Nintendo Direct, compiling the top three Castlevania Game Boy Advance Games, Harmony of dissonance, Circle of the Moon and the cornerstone of the collection, The air of sorrow, with the SNES ‘ Dracula X. AriaThe setting for ‘s is a departure from the typical historical backgrounds of the series, as it takes place in 2035.

The air of sorrow follows the exploits of transfer student Soma Cruz. Major aspects of the game include Dracula’s soul sealed in the moon, and the modern setting gives Soma the ability to purchase modern weapons like guns and the revelation that Soma is the reincarnated Count Dracula. While the 21st century would be revisited in the direct sequel, Dawn of sorrow for Nintendo DS, Castlevania would not see him again until the Dark lords alternate continuity – but that’s actually not the only thing these games have in common.

RELATED: How To Play The Castlevania Series In Chronological Order

Surprisingly, Dark lords follows familiar story rhythms – the player character is revealed to be Count Dracula himself, with Gabriel Belmont abandoning his old name. Unlike Soma, who fought his fate as the prince of darkness, Gabriel fully embraced his bloodlust and fully immersed himself in Dracula’s identity.

There are a surprising number of similarities between Sadness duology and Dark lords, especially with Shadow Lords 2. The future setting allows for greater freedom and originality of new entries in the series, avoiding the excuse plot of Dracula that returns every 100 years. But at the same time Aria and Dawn of sorrow continued the original script while taking it in a new direction, Dark lords reboots the entire universe, with several classic characters combined and entire story rhythms altered.

With the protagonists of the Sadness duology and Dark lords With the series being playable incarnations of Count Dracula, this also means that Soma and Gabriel can use various vampiric and supernatural abilities than others Castlevania heroes cannot. In Shadow Lords 2, the player is able to transform into various animals and feast on the blood of his enemies to regain health. Soma is able to summon almost all of Dracula’s many minions found throughout the castle, with bad alternate endings showing Soma, reappearing as Dracula, performing the classic teleportation and fireball techniques of the Vampire Lord.

RELATED: Grimoire of Souls: Who’s Who in Castlevania’s Latest?

Sadness and Shadow share another striking similarity – both games feature Dracula allying with a Belmont against the ultimate evil threatening to destroy the world. The air of sorrow had Julius Belmont, the most powerful Belmont in the original continuity, helping Soma defeat the entity known as Chaos, the source of Dracula’s evil and the heart of the castle itself. Shadow Lords 2 follows Dracula and his son, Trevor Belmont / Alucard, in their fight against Satan himself in an attempt to save the world from an impending apocalypse.

Defining both games in modern times and in the future has provided opportunities for storytelling outside of Castlevania’s expected premise “Belmont Rises to Destroy Dracula Again”. Giving players the chance to explore very different places outside of the traditional Gothic aesthetic and incorporate modern technology is a great way to refresh the series. Should Konami ever return to traditional manufacturing Castlevania games, he should consider continuing the stories of Soma or Gabriel to revitalize the series.

KEEP READING: Every Game Included in Castlevania Advance Collection

Life Is Strange Remastered Collection Gets New Release Date

About the Author

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.